Sunday, 5th February 2023
Breaking News:

AFRIMMA unveils 2019 award nominees, event slated for October

By Gregory Austin Nwakunor
14 August 2019   |   3:00 am
For Mavin star , Divine Ikubor, popularly known as Rema, this, indeed, is the best of times. The artist, who has stunned the African music scene with his style and talent, continues to blaze the trail.


For Mavin star , Divine Ikubor, popularly known as Rema, this, indeed, is the best of times. The artist, who has stunned the African music scene with his style and talent, continues to blaze the trail.

The Dumebi crooner, only recently, has capped up an amazing debut year with two nominations at the prestigious African Muzik Magazine Awards AFRIMMA. The talented hitmaker is nominated in the ‘Song of The Year’, ‘AFRIMMA Video of The Year’ and ‘Best Newcomer’ categories of the award ceremony set to hold in Dallas, Texas.

His growth has been nothing short of phenomenal and the world awaits so much from a talent that promises to give much more. Rema who has over 50 million streams with his two Eps, Rema and Freestyle EP, continues to wow the music industry with his art and craft on the stage. It comes as little surprise that the biggest African music awards in Diaspora have noticed him.

Some of the big names on the nominees list this year also include, Nigeria’s Burnaboy, Wizkid, Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz and South Africa’s Cassper Nyovest. Davido, Yemi Alade, Sarkodie, Fally Ipupa, Harmonize also earned their place on the nominees list. Stars like Kuami Eugene of Ghana, Uganda’s Vinka, Congo’s Ya Levis as well as Cameroun’s Salatiel all earned their first AFRIMMA nominations.

AFRIMMA is a highly anticipated award show celebrating the beauty of African music, culture and artistry. It holds on Saturday, October 26, 2019 and will honour some of the world’s top African celebrities, artists, artists’ managers, producers, video directors, DJs and cultural influencers.

It is the sole award ceremony in the Diaspora that caters to all musical genres including but not limited to Afrobeats, Assiko, Bongo, Decale, Funana, Genge, Highlife, Hiplife, Kwaito, Lingala and soukous.

This year’s edition of AFRMMA is the 6th one and promises to be the biggest edition of the biggest African music awards show in the Diaspora. The star -studded event attracts guests all over the world and from cities within the United States as well as guests and honorees from various African countries.

Best Male West Africa
Davido (Nigeria), Kuami Eugene (Ghana), King Promise ( Ghana), Burna Boy (Nigeria), Wally B. Seck ( Senegal), Ariel Sheney– Cote d’Ivoire), Sidiki Diabate ( Mali),
Stonebwoy (Ghana), Wizkid (Nigeria) and
Mr. Eazi (Nigeria).

Best Female West Africa
Aya Nakamura (Mali), Simi (Nigeria), Becca (Ghana), Teni (Nigeria), Adiouza (Senegal), Josey (Cote d’Ivoire), MzVee (Ghana), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Yemi Alade (Nigeria) and Niniola (Nigeria).

Crossing Boundaries with Music Award
Burna Boy (Nigeria), Aya Nakamura (Mali/France), Stormzy (Ghana/UK), Wizkid (Nigeria), Davido (Nigeria), Afro B (Cote d’Ivoire), Tobe Nwigwe (Nigeria /USA), Stefflon Don ( Jamaica/UK), Rotimi (Nigeria) and French Montana ( Morocco).

Best Newcomer
Rema (Nigeria), Kwesi Arthur (Ghana), Naiboi (Kenya), Zlatan (Nigeria), Ya Levis (Congo), Fireboy DML (Nigeria), Rui Orlando (Angola), Soraia Ramos (Cape Verde), Gaz Mawete (Congo) and Sho Madjozi (South Africa).

Artist of The Year
Davido (Nigeria) , Diamond Platnumz (Tanzania), Fally Ipupa (Congo), Wizkid (Nigeria),
Burna Boy (Nigeria), Black Coffee (South Africa), Sarkodie (Ghana) , Yemi Alade (Nigeria), Busiswa (South Africa) and Aya Nakamura (Mali/France).

Best Gospel
Frank Edwards ( Nigeria ), Gloria Muliro (Kenya0), Bethel Revival Choir (Ghana),
Papa Dennis (Kenya), (Miguel Buila) Angola
Diana Hamilton (Ghana), Icha Kavons (Congo), Willy Paul (Kenya), Mercy Chinwo (Nigeria) and Winnie Mashaba (South Africa).

Best Live Act
Flavour (Nigeria), Ali Kiba (Tanzania), Sauti Sol (Kenya), Stonebwoy (Ghana), Sidiki Diabate (Mali), Yemi Alade (Nigeria), Becca (Ghana), Burna Boy (Nigeria), Diamond Platnumz ( Tanzania) and Fally Ipupa (Congo).

Best Rap Act
Phyno (Nigeria), Olamide (Nigeria), Falz (Nigeria), Sarkodie (Ghana), Tha Dogg – (Namibia), Cassper Nyovest ( South Africa), Zlatan Ibile (Nigeria), Nasty C (South Africa), Khaligraph Jones (Kenya) and Medikal – Ghana

Best Collaboration
Burna Boy x Zlatan (Killing Dem), Diamond Platnumz ft Fally Ipupa ( Inama), Beyonce x Wizkid x Blue Ivy x Saint JHN (Brown Skin Girls), Ommy Dimpoz ft Alikiba (Rockstar), Anselmo Ralph ft C4 Pedro (Pra Cuiar Mais), Mayorkun ft Kizz Daniel (True), MHD ft Dadju (Bebe), Master KG ft Zanda Zakuza (Skeleton move) and Aya Nakamura ft Niska (Sucette).

In this article