Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

AFRIMA unveils sixth edition nominees



African Union (AU) and the international committee of the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) unveiled the nominees’ list (regional category) for the 6th edition of the awards yesterday in Lagos.

Music industry professionals and journalists witnessed the unveiling for regional and continental categories from the 8,157 songs/videos received from AFRIMA’s online portal, which closed on August 2, 2019.

The remaining 25 continental categories will be released on Friday, August 23, after vetting by international auditors.


This year’s list showcases creativity and talents from new and known artistes across the regions.

Artistes like Shatta Wale, Kizz Daniel, Salif Keita, Burna Boy will be competing for the best male category in West Africa, while Teniola, Simi, Aya Nakamura, Mzvee, Yemi Alade and others will be competing for the best female category.  

Dominating Central Africa are Blanche Baily, Charlotte Dipanda, Daphne, Locko, Magasco, Salatiel among others.  

From East Africa are Sheebah from Uganda, Vanessa Mdee from Tanzania and Nikita Kering from Kenya, with Tanzanian Diamond Platinum, Rayvanny, Mboso, and Kenyan Khaligraph Jones and Nyashinski. 

Moroccan Yann’Sine, Ahmed Soultan, Amiinux, and Algerian Soolking with Cairokee from Egypt and Salma Rachid from Morocco will be battling it out in the north for best male and female categories.  

There is a huge representation for southern African artistes, including AKA, Nasty C, Cassper Nyovest, Sjava, Black Coffee, Kelly Khumalo, Zonke and Nadia Nakai. Amara Brown, Tamy Moyo, Jah Prayzah, and Winky D also lock down a few spots for Zimbabwe.   

The 2019 AFRIMA fiesta is scheduled for November 20 to 23.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet