Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Air Force appoints, redeploys 36 AVMs, commodores, commanders, others


The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) has redeployed 36 Air Vice Marshals (AVMs) and 40 commodores, including some branch chiefs, air officers commanding (AOCs), commandants of tri-service institutions, directors and commanders.

The redeployments, which followed the recent promotion of some senior officers and retirement of others, are to re-invigorate operational efficiency and enhance service delivery. NAF spokesman, Air Commodore Ibikunle Daramola, who disclosed this yesterday in Abuja, said the branch chiefs affected include AVM Oladayo Amao, ex- Chief of Training and Operations (CTOP) NAF Headquarters, who is now Chief of Policy and Plans (COPP), while the erstwhile AOC, Special Operations Command (SOC), AVM James Gwani is the new CTOP.

Additionally, AVM Musibau Olatunji becomes the current Chief of Aircraft Engineering (CAcE) just as AVM Mohammed Idris emerged Chief of Administration (COA) HQ NAF. Also affected by the reshuffle are AVM Abubakar Liman, the former Commandant of the Armed Forces Resettlement Centre (AFRC), Oshodi, who got appointed as Commandant, Armed Forces Command and Staff College (AFCSC), Jaji; AVM Kingsley Lar, ex-COA HQ NAF comes to AFRC, Oshodi as Commandant; while AVM Abdulganiyu Olabisi, one-time AOC Logistics Command (LC) now heads Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT), Kaduna as Commandant.

The spokesman said: “The new AOCs include: AVM Olusegun Philip, who is now the AOC Tactical Air Command (AOC TAC) in Makurdi; AVM Charles Ohwo, the former AOC TAC, the new AOC SOC, Bauchi; AVM Ibukun Ojeyemi who has been appointed as the AOC Mobility Command (MC) in Yenagoa and AVM Musa Muktar who is the new AOC Air Training Command (ATC); while the former Commandant AFCSC, AVM Lawal Alao, is now the AOC LC, Ikeja.

“Other senior officers redeployed include AVM Anderson Kassimu who is now the Managing Director, NAF Properties Limited; AVM Mohammed Suleiman who is appointed as the Chief of Defence Policy and Plans (CDPP), Defence Headquarters (DHQ); AVM Tunde Awoyoola as Chief of Defence Transformation and Innovation, DHQ; AVM Ubrufi Uzezi as Deputy Chief of the Defence Space Administration and AVM Charles Otegbade to the Air Traffic Services Training Centre (ATSTC), Kaduna as Commandant.” He continued: “Also affected are AVM Idi Lubo who is now the Director of Policy HQ NAF; AVM Ayoola Jolasinmi who is appointed as Director of Operations; AVM Aliyu Pani as the Director of Administration; and Air Commodore Abraham Adole as Director of Training, HQ NAF.

“Also redeployed is the former Commander 011 Presidential Air Fleet (011 PAF), AVM Hassan Abubakar who is now the Chief of Staff (COS) MC, Yenagoa. He is to be replaced by Air Commodore Abubakar Abdullahi while Air Commodore Simon Peter is to take over as the Commander 053 NAF Camp, Abuja and Air Commodore Razak Olanrewaju is appointed as the new Commander 651 Bases Services Group, Ikeja. The newly appointed and redeployed senior officers are expected to take over their new offices not later than Tuesday, January 7, 2020.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet