Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Fayemi sends names of seven commissioner-nominees to Assembly ahead of cabinet reshuffle



The Ekiti State governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi, has forwarded the list of seven new commissioner-nominees to the state House of Assembly ahead of a planned major cabinet shake-up.

The Speaker of the House, Mr. Funminiyi Afuye, who read the names of the nominees on the floor of the House yesterday, said that the nominees would be screened next week.


The nominees included Chief Diran Adesua (Ekiti East), Prince Olabode Adetoyi (Moba), Dr. (Mrs) Olabimpe Aderiye (Ido Osi), Dr. Oye Filani (Ikole), Princess Iyabo Fakunle (Ilejemeje), Alhaja Mariam Ogunlade (Emure) and Mr. Akin Omole (Oye).

Also nominated for board positions were Prof. Femi Akinwunmi for State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB) and Mr. Febisola Adewale for Local Government Service Commission.

Chief Press Secretary to the Governor, Yinka Oyebode, while reacting to the development, said it was part of the strategies to fortify the cabinet and bring in new blood and ideas to develop the state.

Oyebode, who spoke on telephone, added that Fayemi was determined to deliver on his mandate to bring economic prosperity by working with other progressives to give the people the required dividends of democracy.

Oyebode said: “Let us wait and see how the screening will end before talking about those that will be sent out of the cabinet as a result of the action.

“The essence of the cabinet reshuffle is to strengthen the government for better performance and that we shall achieve in the end.”


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet