Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Katsina State locks down seven LGAs


Katsina State government has locked down seven of its 34 Local Government Areas as part of measures aimed at checking the spread of coronavirus. The council areas are Daura, Katsina, Batagarawa, Mani, Jibia, Dutsinma, and Safana, and will take effect from 7a.m today. Governor Aminu Masari ordered the lockdown of Safana following a result from the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC) which tested and confirmed three persons positive for COVID-19 in the area.

A statement signed by the Secretary to the Government of the State (SGS), Mustapha Inuwa said all the positive patients were primary contacts of a case in Dutsinma council area. It said the order placed on the area “was in line with the decision already taken by the state government and other stakeholders to shut down any area where COVID-19 is established.”

The statement called on people in the area to stay at home as security agents would be deployed to ensure total compliance in order to curtail the spread of the disease in the state.

The statement added that some identified pharmaceuticals; grains and commodities stores in the area would be allowed to offer skeletal services to the public. The state, which has almost two dozen cases and one death, has also seen samples of dozens of contact cases taken to determine their status and avoid community spread of the disease.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet