Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ministry of Science and Technology changes name


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the re-naming of the Ministry of Science and Technology to the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation.

Minister of Science, Technology and Innovation, Dr. Ogbonnaya Onu, announced the development at a media briefing in Abuja, yesterday.

He noted that in 2017, the Federal Executive Council (FEC) approved the National Science, Technology and Innovation Roadmap (NSTIR 2017-2030), which he said was aimed at using “Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) to catalyse Nigeria’s economic growth and competitiveness.”


“This document laid out a core policy for driving positive socio-economic outcomes through science, technology and innovation in all activities of the economy,” he added.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) quoted Onu as explaining that the approval of the roadmap necessitated the ministry’s change of name as approved by the Presidency, noting that the new development would require an innovation agenda through a branding campaign, in line with its expected mandate in ensuring productivity and economic growth.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet