The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Mo Abudu, Afolabi-Brown, Awosanya others emerge as judges for 2019 IIDA


Mo Abudu, CEO of EbonyLife TV

As the countdown to the 2019 Independence Day Awards for Heroes of Nigeria (IIDA) draws closer, Dufil Prima has announced members of the panel of judges for the annual event.

Selected judges include Ralph Afolabi Akinfeleye, Chairman, UNILAG Radio and Television, Modupe Adefeso-Olateju, MD, The Education Partnership Centre (TEP Centre) and Programme Director, LEARNigeria Citizen and Agatha Amata, Managing Director, Inside-Out Media. Others are Jide Ologun, Segun Awosanya, Morayo Afolabi-Brown and Mo Abudu, CEO, EbonyLife TV.

It will be recalled that the search exercise for this year’s awards recorded over 500 entries out of which 15 exceptional entries were shortlisted across the three categories; physical, social and intellectual bravery. To round off the process of seeking out these heroes, the independent panel of judges will convene next week to select a winner each from the three categories from the shortlisted entries.


Giving more insight on the selection of the judges, the brand’s Public Relations and Events Manager, Tope Ashiwaju said, “IIDA is a credible initiative and so we have carefully identified reputable and distinguished men and women from different spheres of life, based on their integrity, vast experience and reputation in the society, to help in selecting the winners.” He disclosed further that, the verification team is already on the field to authenticate, validate and simulate the selected stories, which will be used during the judges sitting for the selection of the winners for each category.

The IIDA initiative is a national event which extols the exemplary accomplishments of children who have shown courage and determination in situations that ordinarily would bring fear.

In the last eleven years, 40 winners have emerged and have been rewarded with scholarships worth millions of Naira. At the 2019 edition of the award, three new winners will be added to the IIDA Hall of Fame.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet