Monday, 6th December 2021
Breaking News:

Oyo APC crisis worsens as factions disagree over harmonised executives list

By Seye Olumide (South-West Bureau Chief) and Rotimi Agboluaje, Ibadan
15 November 2021   |   4:05 am
The warring factions in the Oyo State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), yesterday, disagreed over the harmonised executives list released to the media.

Lawan, Akintola trade words over state congress
The warring factions in the Oyo State Chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), yesterday, disagreed over the harmonised executives list released to the media. The list was released by the former Governor Adebayo Alao-Akala-led Elders Advisory Committee and the seven zonal leaders authorised by the Caretaker/Extraordinary Convention Planning Committee (CECPC) to deliberate on the issue.

According to the list given to the media, the election of Isaac Ajiboye Omodewu as the new state chairman was ratified by the harmonised group, while Alhaji Abass Olayide Masood for Ibarapa Central was also ratified as the deputy state chairman.

Moshood is said to be a loyalist of the late former Governor Lam Adesina. Omodewu, according to the list, represents the tendency of the late Governor Abiola Ajimobi political dynasty.

The new State Secretary, Alhaji Tajudeen Olanite from Oyo East Local Council, was ratified, while the Deputy State Secretary, Mrs. Monisola Tegbe from Ibadan North-East Local Council was said to have been nominated by Ladoja Group and Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) members in Oyo State APC.

The state Treasurer, Alhaji Lekan Busari from Ido Local Council was claimed to have been nominated by Chief Niyi Akintola (SAN).

The list also claimed that the state Youth Leader, Aremu John Oyetunji, from Ogbomoso South, was nominated by the Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Chief Sunday Dare, while the new Publicity Secretary, Wasiu Shadare from Egbeda Local Council is a nominee of the outgoing State Chairman, Chief Akin Oke.

Shadare is still acting in the capacity of Senior Assistant Media to Chief Oke.

The list also has as State Auditor, Alhaji Lukuman Anwo from Afijio Local Council, who is said to be a nominee of Bimbo Kolade of the Ajimobi Legacy Forum and others.

Alao-Akala insisted that the harmonised list had the authority of the CECPC and that any aggrieved member of Oyo APC should forward their petition to the national headquarters.
BUT the outgoing State Public Secretary, Mr. AblulAzeez Olatunde, dismissed the list as a figment of the imagination of those behind it.

He appealed to the CECPC to intervene in the crisis in Oyo chapter. He said Omodewu, for instance, is not the popular choice of the Ogun I area but rather the favourite of those who perfected the list.

MEANWHILE, the state Congress Committee Chairman for Oyo, Gambo Lawan, while reacting to a statement credited to Akintola that the national secretariat of the party in Abuja had no knowledge of his presence when the harmonised executives list was perfected, said considering the antecedents of Akintola, his outburst on him and others was nothing but a figment of his imagination, personal opinion and ploy to get undue recognition.

He said if Akintola and others have any complaint, they should go to the party’s headquarters in Abuja rather than spewing out lies.

Akintola said he was unperturbed being called a liar and inconsequential politician because he is not one, adding that he had won election two times but Lawan has not.