The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

10th Anosike South East Cricket Championship flags off March 11


All is set for the 10th edition of the yearly Chuma Anosike Cricket Cup Championship, which will flag off from March 11 to 15, 2020 in Awka, Anambra State.
The competition, featuring all the five states in the South-East zone, including Enugu, Imo, Anambra, Ebonyi and Abia states, will have male and female cricket teams battling for trophies and other consolation prizes.
Speaking to journalists while unveiling the programme for the 2020 edition in Lagos at the weekend, the sponsor of the competition, who is a former board member of Nigeria Cricket Federation (NCF), Chuma Anosike, said the main objective of the annual programme was to continue to amplify the development and awareness of cricket in the zone and Nigeria at large.

He said the games would feature all the South-East states, except Imo State, who would not be participating for reasons best known to them.
Anosike said the competition has continued to grow the popularity of cricket in the region, adding that some of its products have participated in the Nigerian cricket team.
“It is a thing of joy for something we started with only three teams in three states, Imo, Enugu and Anambra, in 2011. It has increased to many teams, both male and female, as the game has continued to grow in popularity, but there is still much to be done. Imo is not taking part as they opted out. We will be having male and female teams from the other states in the championship,” he added.
He, however, advised that all hands must be on deck to sustain the competition in spite the prevailing economic challenges, noting that the national U-19 team’s World Cup feat has added a catalyst to Nigerian cricket.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet