Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Ighalo, Obaseki, Shaibu top Edo FA awards list


Odion Ighalo. PHOTO: YOUTUBE

Super Eagles striker, Odion Ighalo, Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki and his deputy, Philip Shaibu are among the sports personalities to be rewarded in Benin on Friday for their contributions to the development of football in Edo State by the state’s Football Association.

Edo FA Chairman, Frank Ilaboya told The Guardian yesterday that arrangements had been concluded for a hitch-free event, which will bring past and present football personalities to the state capital.

While Ighalo will get the Edo Footballer of the Year Award, Governor Obaseki will receive the Football Merit Award, just as Shaibu will be recognized as the Football Personality of the Year.


Osas Okoro will get the Player of the Year (Home-based, men), while the women gong will go to Mary Ibadin of Nasarawa Amazons.

Johnbull Egharevba of Dynamite Force FC is listed for the Coach of the Year Award (men), just as Coach of the Year (Women) Award will go to Proposal Osahon of FC Robo, Lagos.

Bendel Insurance squad of 1978 will get the Evergreen Awards; Monday Odigie and Christopher Kadiri are listed for the Outstanding Coaches Of Our time, with Referee Of The Year going to Ogbomo Aisosa.

A Special Recognition Award will go to Ibrahim Gusau, who is NFF’s Chairman of Chairmen; Paul Maduakor of Zenith Sports, Percy Odigie, Ajasa Owonaru, Julius Aghahowa, Micah Amanokha, Bawo Laworu and Steven Usiomwanta, the Enigie of Obagie.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet