Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Lafia Stadium wears new look as Amazons host Nigeria Women Professional League season opener


Nasarawa Amazons

After the successful experiment that was the maiden NWFL Charity Shield hosted by Lagos State government, women football faithful are in for more of the good times at the 2017/2018 season, which kicks off on April 7.

The opening game will hold at the ultra-modern 5,000-seat Lafia Township Stadium, which is home to league champions, Nasarawa Amazons. The champions are billed to host Lagos landladies, FC Robo Queens in the star match of the season.

The Lafia side beat all comers in the 2017 NWPL Super Four Championship in Benin City to claim the league crown and the rare privilege to kick start the new season on her home ground. But they narrowly missed the double and first silverware of the New Year when they went down 3-4 on penalties to perennial rivals and Aiteo Cup winners, Rivers Angels in the 2018 Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) Champions Shield at the Agege Stadium in Lagos.

According to the NWFL, the Nasarawa Amazons versus FC Robo Queens will be the only matchday 1 clash on April 7, but the other fixtures will hold across the two groups on April 11.

“Subsequently, other match fixtures will hold every Wednesday of the week in the abridged league format of two groups of eight teams each,” NWFL Chairperson, Aisha Falode said

She explained that the league body chose an abridged format after a careful consideration of the time frame of the upcoming 2018 Fifa World Cup in Russia, as well as the Fifa Women World Cup in France.

The eight teams that make up Group A are Edo Queens, Confluence Queens, Delta Queens, Ibom Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Aiteo winners and NWFL Champions Shield winners, Rivers Angels and two newcomers, Sure Babes and FC Taraba Queens.

Group B has league champions, Nasarawa Amazons, Pelican Stars, Osun Babes, Adamawa Queens, Abia Angels, Sunshine Queens, FC Robo Queens and newcomers, Jokodolu Babes.

Falode reiterated that the official deadline for the registration of clubs for the upcoming NWPL season remained March 19, 2018, while the collection of players’ licences would end on or before Friday, March 30, 2018.

“Players’ transfer fees for the new league season has been pegged at N200, 000 for the top-flight. It is aimed at ensuring equity and fairness among the clubs, while the fees for the second tier Pro League is pegged at N100, 000,” she disclosed.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet