The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Musa, Iwobi, Oshoala top nominees for Nigeria Pitch Awards 


Nigeria’s Alexander Iwobi reacts during the African Cup of Nations qualifier match between South Africa and Nigeria on November 17, 2018 at Soccer City Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa. (Photo by PHILL MAGAKOE / AFP)

Super Eagles’ stars, Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi and Super Falcons’ forward, Asisat Oshoala, who plays for FC Barcelona women, have been unveiled as some of the top nominees for the 2018/19 Nigeria Pitch Awards.

The list of nominees for the awards, which recognises top performing Nigerian footballers in the outgone season, was released at the weekend in Lagos in a ceremony attended by top journalists and stakeholders in the country’s football, including FA officials.

Listed in the men’s goalkeeper of the year category are Ikechukwu Ezenwa, Theophilus Afelokhai and Francis Odinaka Uzoho, while Leon Balogun, William Troost -Ekong and Kenneth Omeruo were named in the defender of the year category.

In the midfield category are Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi and Oghenekaro Etebo, Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa and Junior Lokosa were nominated for the striker award.

Other categories are the MVP in NPFL award with Junior Lokosa, Mfom Udoh and Godwin Aguda in the list, while Super Falcons’ striker Rasheedat Ajibade, Evelyn Nwabuoku and Anam Imo were listed for the MVP in the Nigeria Women Football League award.

Assisat Oshoala, Francisca Ordega and Rasheedat Ajibade make up nominees in the Queen of the Pitch Award, just as Odion Ighalo, Ahmed Musa and Wilfred Ndidi will battle for the King of the Pitch award.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet