Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NFF bans Giwa, Effiong, Suleyman for five years from football activities


Ambassador Chris Giwa

Ambassador Chris Giwa

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Disciplinary Committee yesterday banned Christopher Giwa, who claims to be the authentic president of the federation, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong from taking part in any football related activity for five years each.

Giwa, Suleyman, Fema, Adama and Johnson have been laying claims to the leadership of the NFF, saying they are the duly elected custodians of the game in the country.

While announcing the five-year ban, the NFF committee said it arrived at the decision after reviewing the six-count charges against the five, which include that they illegally represented the federation in breach of article 40 of the NFF statutes, “when they without due authorisation and mandate purported to contract a law firm, Messrs Leslie Cohen and Associates of Illovo Law Chambers, 4 Fricker Road, Ground Floor, South Africa in the name of Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) and refused to pay for services whereby the said Messrs Leslie Cohen and Associates commenced proceedings against the NFF for the sum of $100, 000 being legal fees for professional services rendered in the High Court of South Africa, Gauteng Local Division, Johannesburg.”

The committee also said that Giwa, Suleyman, Adama, Fema and Effiong breached “article 69 (1) of the NFF statutes by taking football matters to the ordinary court and failing to submit to the jurisdiction of FIFA and the federation;

“(3) That there is insufficient particulars and evidence submitted to establish the charge of threats, unguarded, uncouth and uncivilized statements in the media against the NFF, brought against Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong:

“(4) That Christopher Giwa is guilty of breach of the general rules of conduct as contained in article 13 of the FIFA code of ethics when he invaded the premises of the Nigeria Football Federation and falsely presented himself as President of the NFF on May 6, 2016;

“(5) That Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong are found guilty of failing to comply fully with the statutes, regulations, directives and decisions of FIFA and NFF in contravention of article 13 1(a) of NFF Statutes 2010 in relation to the NFF Election held in Warri Delta State on September 30, 2014; and

“(6) That Christopher Giwa, Muazu Suleyman, Yahaya Adama, Sani Fema and Johnson Effiong are in breach of fiduciary and loyalty as contained in article 15 of FIFA Code of Ethics 2012 by carrying out various deliberate acts and conducts capable of attracting a ban from FIFA on the NFF capable of putting the administration and development of football in Nigeria into jeopardy.”

Members of the NFF disciplinary Committee include
Prof. Olufemi Adegbesan (Vice-Chairman), Adamu Sani Osmond, Kelvin Omuojine and Christian Emeruwa.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet