Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Prof. Erameh wins Benin Club Captain’s inaugural golf tourney



Professor Waziri Erameh on Easter Sunday out stroked the field to win the men’s category of the Benin Club Golf Section (BCGS) Captain’s inaugural tournament held at the club’s golf course. Former Lady Captain, Suwadetu Mahmud won the ladies event.

The professor at the University of Benin displayed his golfing skill with a net score of 72 to win the event ahead of Darlington Ogie (hcp 17) with 76 net, while Ben Oghuma (hcp 12) finished in third position.

Similarly, John Omo-Onofe’s 86 gross was adjudged the best gross for the award, as Kingsley Okunbo emerged the nearest to the pin award.


In the ladies’ event, former lady captain, Mahmud showed ruled the cast with a net score of 74, Marian Benka-Coker (hcp 28) finished first runner-up with 85 net, just as Lady Vice-captain, Habiibah Oyeghe Oyarekhua (HCP 36) settled for the third position with 88 net.

Other victors at the event were Wilco Otabor, who won the veteran category with 75 net ahead of John Ogbeide with 77 net, while Steve Asemota placed third with 83 net. J. Igbinadolor won the guests’ men award with 74 net, while S. Emina won the guests’ ladies event with 75 net.

Speaking after the presentation of trophies and prizes, Club captain, Osagie Nehikhare thanked all the golfers and well wishers for coming to play and felicitate with the club at the tournament.

Assuring them of more golfing action during his administration, he solicited their support and cooperation to enhance the profile of the club.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet