Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Sirawoo explains decision to dedicate award to Wike, Sports Writers  


Sports Writers Association of Nigeria (SWAN) President, Honour Sirawoo, has explained that he chose to dedicate his recent Sportsman Award to Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, and Nigerian sports writers because of the roles they have played in his development as a human being and in his profession.

Speaking after receiving his award as Daily Asset Newspaper ‘Sportsman of the year 2020’ in Abuja, Sirawoo said his leadership accomplishment in the sports sector is tied to the tremendous support of the Rivers State Governor, SWAN members and AIPS leadership. 

Sirawoo, who is also the Permanent Secretary, Rivers State Ministry of Sports, noted that the Governor Wike-led administration has been of immense support to his success story as the leader of Sports Journalists in Nigeria.


“We are glad that under our watch, Governor Nyesom Wike was honoured by AIPS as the Power of Sports in Africa, the fourth in the nearly 100 years old world body and the first African to be so recognized for his understanding of the benefits of sports to societal development. 

“This award is dedicated to him in appreciation of his genuine utilization of sports, interest in SWAN and support for me in particular. He is indeed a sports icon for all seasons.”

He also expressed gratitude to SWAN members, AIPS President, Gianni Merlo and AIPS-Africa, Mitchell Obi and former presidents of SWAN, who he said are always available, especially in challenging times. 

Sirawoo was honoured by Daily Asset Newspapers alongside other notable Nigerians including Oyo State Governor, Seyi Makinde; Bayelsa State Governor, Douye Diri; Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha; Director General of the Nigerian Television Authority (NTA), Mallam Yakubu ibn Mohammed and the First Lady of Benue State, Mrs. Eunice Ortom.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet