The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Peugeot, Maduka, others shine at NAJA award


Peugeot 301

Peugeot 301

Peugeot 301, president of Coscharis Group, Cosmas Maduka, Toyota Nigeria, Ford, Nissan, and Mercedes-Benz are top winners of the 2016 Nigeria Auto Journalists Association (NAJA) award, organised by the association in Lagos.

The award, which also honoured Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps, Boboye Oyeyemi, Managing Director of Toyota Nigeria Limited, Kunle Ade-ojo and the former Executive Director of Nigeria Auto Manufacturers Association (NAMA), late Arthur Madueke, saw Peugeot 301 emerge car of the year in a keen contest with Toyota Corolla and Nissan Almera.

Speaking at the event, Acting Commissioner for Transportation, Lagos State, Prince Anofiu Elegushi said: “As we celebrate and bestow honour we will like to state that it is pertinent for us to begin to invest in the Nigerian “car”. We are long overdue for such. There are a few of such in Nigeria. While we import most cars as CKDS or such other forms we bring them in, we must now commence a process of investing in building local content into it. The Nigeria Auto Journalists are eminently placed to champion this cause.

“A second concern that we must also deal with is safety issues. I will recall your positive contribution when Federal Road Safety Corps (FRSC) commenced the campaign to introduce speed limiting devices in vehicles used for public transportation. I therefore salute your sagacity and candour”.

Corps Marshal of the Federal Road Safety Corps, Boboye Oyeyemi, who was represented at the event by the Zonal Commanding Officer for Lagos/Ogun state, Assistant Corps Marshal Shehu Zaki, said the Corps would continue to collaborate with the press in ensuring that road traffic crashes are reduced.

Chairman of NAJA, Frank Kintum urged journalists , to keep watch and review developments in the automotive sector, particularly in terms of launch of new models, entry of new brands, government policies as they affect the industry etc.

In other categories, the Mercedes Benz S-class emerged Luxury Car of the Year, beating the BMW Seven Series and Jaguar XJ. Sports Utility Vehicle of the year went to Toyota Prado, while the Pick up of the year was won by Ford Ranger.

Toyota Hiace went home with the Mini Bus of the year award, while the Heavy Truck of the Year was won by Mercedes Actros. Globe Hyundai and Jet Van Mercedes were joint winners in the Outstanding new entrant of the year category, just as God is Good Motors walked away with the Most Safety Conscious Transport Company of the Year.

Show room of the year prize was won by Nissan showroom, while Pirelli was crowned tyre brand of the year. Chisco Transport was recognised as the West Africa coast transport company of the year, while Yamaha was voted Motorcycle brand of the year.

In this article:
Cosmas MadukaPeugeot 301
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet