Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Kano rerun: Election holds in 234 polling units


A rerun of the gubernatorial election in Kano will hold is 30 local government areas where votes were cancelled, Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has confirmed.

According to INEC, the rerun election will be held in 234 Polling units scattered across 88 registration areas (wards) in the 30 affected local government areas.


INEC cancelled 141,694 votes in about 196 polling units, citing cases of over voting, violence and card reader failure. The cancelled areas also included 62 polling units of Gama ward in Nassarawa local government area where police arrested Kano Commissioner for Local government Murtala Sule Garo and one Lamin Sani for allegedly snatching and destroying result sheets.

The returning officer for Governorship election in Kano, Professor Bello B. Shehu revealed that candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Abba Kabiru Yusuf had polled 1,04,747 votes, far above the incumbent Governor and candidate of the ruling All Progressive Congress (APC) Abdullahi Umar Ganduje who scored 987,909 votes. PDP candidate leads with the margin of 26,565 votes.

But Professor Shehu who declared the election inconclusive posited that such condition became pertinent when the number of cancelled votes is more than the votes margin PDP had against APC.


Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet