Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Coke Studio stars rule 2017 AFRIMA nominations list 



A total number of 18 Africa artistes currently working on the 2017 Coke Studio project are among stars nominated for this year’s All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) billed for November. The nominees were unveiled recently, at the Renaissance Hotel, Ikeja, Lagos.

The artistes include Yemi Alade, Alikiba, AKA, Runtown, Nasty C, Eddy Kenzo, Locko, Anselmo Ralph, Jah Prayzah, Busiswa, Amanda Black, Kiff No Beat, Mafikizolo, Micasa, Bebe Cool, Nyashinski, Olamide, Nandi and other nominees in AFRIMA’s regional and continental preliminaries. This year’s nominee list includes 33 categories, 10 regional and 23 genre-based categories, with Coke Studio stars bagging 25 nomination slots.

Fresh off releasing her new EP Mama Afrique, multi-award winning Nigerian artist Yemi Alade returns to the show for the fourth time this year performing alongside French Congolese rapper Youssoupha. She has been nominated in the Best Female Artiste in Western Africa category. Another Nigerian star, Runtown, of the “Mad Over You” hit has been nominated in the coveted category of Best Male Artiste in Western Africa up against Nigerian heavy weights Davido and Wizkid. Runtown makes his debut on Coke Studio Africa this year paired alongside Africa’s coolest kid: Nasty C.


Meanwhile, 2017 is a great year already for Eddy Kenzo; He just released his new album BIOLOGY and returns to Coke Studio for a second time paired alongside Ghanaian artist Bisa Kdei. He is among the AFRIMA nominees in the category of Best Male Artiste in Eastern Africa together with Coke Studio king from Tanzania: Alikiba. AFRIMA category of Best Male Artiste in Central Africa includes Coke Studio stars: Anselmo Ralph (Angola) and Locko (Cameroon) both making their debut on the show this year. On the show Anselmo Ralph is paired with Mi Casa (South Africa) and Locko is paired with Tresor (South Africa/Congo). Eddy Kenzo has also been nominated for the Video of the Year category, Album of the Year in Africa, Artiste of the year in Africa and Song of the Year.

From South Africa, Coke Studio rappers Nasty C and AKA are nominated in the Best Male Artiste in Southern Africa, alongside Zimbabwean music general Jah Prayzah who collaborates with Mozambique’s Mr. Bow and Ugandan artist Ykee Benda on his Coke Studio debut this year. South African divas: Busiswa and Amanda Black will battle it out in the category of Best Female Artiste in Southern Africa. While Busiswa has been paired with Zambian artist Slap Dee on the show, Amanda Black collaborated with Ghanaian “Tonga” star: Joey B.

In subsequent AFRIMA nominations other Coke Studio stars have been nominated in the continental categories. They include Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast) Mafikizolo and Mi Casa (South Africa) in the Best African Group category. For the Best Artist or Group in African Contemporary category, the nominees include Anselmo Ralph (Angola) and Alikiba (Tanzania). Aje by Alikiba Ft. MI, has also been nominated in the category of Best Collaboration, alongside Jah Prayzah’s Watora Mari ft Diamond and Supporter by Locko Ft. Mr Leo.

Uganda’s King of dancehall Bebe Cool is among the nominees for Best Artist or Group in African Reggae, Ragga and Dancehall. The other categories in the continental awards that are aimed at shaping the narrative of African Music across the globe include: Best Artist or Group in African Hip Hop AKA (South Africa), Nasty C (South Africa); Best Artist or Group in African R&B and Soul – Alikiba (Tanzania), Anselmo Ralph (Angola); Best Artist in African Pop – Locko (Cameroon) and Yemi Alade (Nigeria).

The African Fans Favourite category has also attracted 10 nominees, with two going to Coke Studio stars; Nyashinski (Kenya) and Olamide (Nigeria). Other categories with Coke Studio stars include; Songwriter of the Year category – Anselmo Ralph, Revelation of The Year – Nasty C and Runtown, Producer of the Year and Song of the Year – Runtown.


In this article:
AFRIMACoke studio
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet