Close button
The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Nigeria to meet France, Korea, others at women’s World Cup in France


Ninth-time AWCON’s champions, Super Falcons are in Group A alongside hosts, France, Korea, and Norway in 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup at the draw held yesterday, in France.

Ninth-time winners of the Africa Women Cup of Nations (AWCON), the Super Falcons have been drawn in Group A alongside hosts, France, Korea, and Norway in next year’s FIFA Women’s World Cup holding between June 7 and July 7 in France.

The draw, which was made yesterday in Paris, France, pitched AWCON’s runner up and debutant, South Africa in Group B against two-time winners of the tournament, Germany, that also include China, and Spain. AWCON’s second runner up, Cameroon will do battle in Group E against Canada, New Zealand and The Netherlands.

Defending champions, United States will kick-start the defence of their title campaign in Group F against Thailand, Chile and Sweden, while Australia will have to contend with Italy, Brazil and debutant, Jamaica for a slot in the next stage of the tournament in Group C.


However, upcoming super power in the women football, England, will square up with Scotland, Argentina and one-time winner, Japan in Group D.

However, the tournament, which will feature 24 countries, will see teams do battles in 52 matches for supremacy at the women’s Mundial in France.

It will be recalled that the Super Falcons remain the only team on the continent to have represented Africa in all FIFA organised Women’s World Cup since the tournament began in 1999.

In this article:
AWCONFifaSuper Falcons
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet