The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Federation Cup draw holds tomorrow


EnyimbaDefending champions, Enyimba, and Glo Nigeria Premier League kings, Kano Pillars, will know their opponents at the national finals of the FedeDration Cup when the draws for the competition are made in Abuja tomorrow.

According to a letter by the Nigeria Football Federation’s (NFF) Head of Federation Cup Unit, Ruth David, to the 36 states and FCT’s associations, the draw will begin at 1.00 p.m. Already, all 64 teams for the men’s draw and 18 teams for the women’s event have emerged, setting the stage for the draw that will herald the national finals.

The NFF revealed that among the 64 teams in the men’s draw, all the teams in the Premier League, except Warri Wolves, which lost in the Delta State’s semifinals, are involved in the event.

14 are from the second tier National League, 16 belong to the Nationwide League and an impressive 15 are non-League.

Participants in the Federation Cup are the two teams that played in their states and FCT’s final, minus Yobo State, which did not register any club. Of the remaining 72 clubs, eight were eliminated in last Tuesday’s play-off round.

In the Women’s draw are Rivers Angels, Bayelsa Queens, Sunshine Queens, Delta Queens, Ibom Angels, Nasarawa Amazons and Kogi Confluence Queens.

There are four non-League teams in the Women’s draw, namely Golden Babes of Ebonyi State, Moje Queens of Kwara State, Fortress Ladies of Edo State and Alberto Queens of Akwa Ibom State.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet