The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

ANA names Okediran, Agada, Amadi as fellows


Dr. Wale Okediran

Dr. Wale Okediran

Ahead its 35th Anniversary International Convention coming up from October 27 through 30, 2016 at Abuja, the National Executive Council of Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA) has approved that fellows should be awarded to three deserving Nigerian writers. They are past president and member of ANA National Advisory Council, Dr. Wale Okediran, past president and member ANA National Advisory Council, Prof. Jerry Anthony Agada and late Captain Elechi Amadi (post-humous).

According to ANA President, Mr. Denja Abdullahi, the honour of fellow is to be conferred on them for their dedicated service to the association and proven contributions to the development of Nigerian literature. Also, Justice Mustapha Akanbi Foundation in Ilorin is to be installed as an honorary corporate member of the association for its support to the association in the past five years. Sen. Shehu Sani will on his part be installed as a patron of ANA. The investiture of fellows, honorary corporate member and patron will be done at the awards dinner of the convention happening on October 29, 2016.

Fellows of ANA was last conferred in 2006 at the association’s 25th Convention in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, and previous fellows are Chinua Achebe, Wole Soyinka, J P Clark, Mabel Segun, Labo Yari, T M Aluko, Kole Omotoso, Femi Osofisan, Ken Saro Wiwa, Odia Ofeimun, Abubakar Gimba, Mamman Jiya Vatsa, Olusegun Obasanjo, Dora Akunyili and Olu Obafemi.

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet