The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

Gombe State to establish five new tertiary institutions




Gombe State government is to establish five tertiary institutions, in an effort to increase access to tertiary education in the state.The gesture is also aimed at providing science and technical education to youths of the state, as well as, producing agricultural extension workers, who would contribute their quota to boosting agriculture in the state.

Governor Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, stated this while speaking during the inauguration of five committees for the establishment of the institutions in on Tuesday.

Dankwambo recalled that at the inception of his administration, a high-powered committee on education was appointed to produce a blueprint that would facilitate development of education in the state.

“It is therefore gratifying to note that we have implemented recommendations of the committee, which resulted in the improvement of basic education, remodeling and expansion of secondary schools among others,” he said.

He added that when established, the new institutions would train the teeming youths in the state and make them become functional citizens.While commending the appointees, Dankwambo said their selection was based on their track records in various fields of endeavour, urging them to bring their experience to bear in the discharge of their duties.

The five new tertiary institutions to be established are: Gombe State University of Science and Technology, Gombe State College of Agriculture and Animal Husbandry, Gombe State College of Accounting and Management Studies, Gombe State Institute of Journalism, and Gombe State Institute of Sports.

Those appointed into the various committees comprising academics and professionals include professors Abdullahi Mahadi, Yahaya Shehu, Garba Bello Bala, Abubakar Muazu and Nebath Tanglang, as chairmen of respective committees.Shehu on behalf of the others, thanked the government for finding them worthy of the assignment, promising to give their best.

The committees have two weeks within which to submit their reports. Their terms of reference include determining the desirability or otherwise of establishing the various institutions, propose possible locations, as well as, define philosophy and design concepts for the institutions.

In this article:
Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo
Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

No comments yet