The Guardian
Email YouTube Facebook Instagram Twitter WhatsApp

NBC releases list of community radio licencees


A radio station. image source justshuddup

A radio station. image source justshuddup

DETAILS on communities for whom President Goodluck Jonathan approved radio licences have been released. But contrary to earlier information, a total of 17 communities are the hosts of the newly-approved radio stations at the grassroots.

At a press briefing last week in Abuja, Director-General of the National Broadcasting Commission (NBC), Emeka Mba, had disclosed the figure to be 12 spread across the six geo-political zones of the country.

But at a meeting of community radio stakeholders in Abuja yesterday, Mba read the list of 17 communities spread across the six zones of the country. The breakdown indicates South-West having four; while North-East has only one. The rest of North-West, North-Central, South-East and South-South got three stations each.

The licensees in the North-West are Dawanau Market Development Association, Dawakin-Tofa Local Council, Kano State; Bayintrung Community Development Association, Zango-Kataf Local Council, Kaduna State and Bright Capacity Initiatives Comm. Enhancement, Gwandu, Kebbi State.

In North-Central, the beneficiaries are Agba Community Radio Initiative, Oju Local Council, Benue State; Isin Community Radio Initiative, Irepodun Local Council, Kwara State and Lavun Radio Awareness Initiative, Kutigi, Niger State.

Only Gelengu Community Development Association, Balanga Local Council, Gombe State, got the licence in the North-East.

South-East: Owerre-Nkwoji Town Union, Nkwerre Local Council, Imo State; Uroshi Community Association, Igbo Eze North Local Council, Enugu State and Michael Okpara University, Umudike, Abia State.

South-West: EjuleNen Development Association, Okitipupa Local Council, Ondo State; Iwoye-Ketu Community Development Association, Imeko/Afon Local Council, Ogun State; Ekimogun Community Foundation, Ondo State; Integrated Community Initiative Centre, Ogijo, Ogun State.

South South: Feefeelo Information and Resource Centre, Gokana Local Council, Rivers State; Amassoma Information and Resource Centre, Southern Ijaw Local Council, Bayelsa State and Otuoke Community, Ogbia Local Council, Bayelsa

Receive News Alerts on Whatsapp: +2348136370421

1 Comment
  • Abidilagungun

    So, Jona, all the approved ones in the south south are in Bayelsa State, and more importantly, you have one in Otuoke. Well done o